Color guard members, from left, are Lt. Robert Tompkins, Officer Margaret Maraden, Officer Ricardo Moreno, Officer Royce Downing, Officer Richard Amick, CalPoly University Police Department Officer Wayne Lyons, Officer Alexandr Pisklov, Officer David Scheiffele, San Luis Obispo County Sheriff’s Deputy Darren Davidson, Sgt. Christopher Greenleaf, Sgt.  Brandon Escobedo, Sgt. Gerald Ramos and Sgt.Timothy Lariba.

By Lt. Dean Spears, PIO, CMC
Continuing a decade long tradition, the CMC Honor Guard was asked by the organizers of the annual San Luis Obispo Peace Officer Memorial service to present the colors and a 21-gun salute on May 16, 2012.
The annual recognition involves all of the police and fire departments within San Luis Obispo County, including staff from CMC and the local substations of the California Highway Patrol. This year’s service began with opening statements from local police department chiefs and a fly-over by the California Highway Patrol.  The memorial also included a reading of the names of peace officers who died in California from May 2011 to the present.