Officers bow their heads.

CDCR Officers join other agencies for a ceremony of fallen peace officers.

By Lt. Mike Tuntakit, AA/PIO
Avenal State Prison

Avenal State Prison staff pay tribute to the those officers who paid the ultimate sacrifice. The Kings County Peace Officers’ Memorial Ceremony 2019, hosted a remarkable memorial event to pay tribute to our 2018 fallen heroes. All the different agencies and first responders gathered together to show respect to all those who passed and most importantly to the families they left behind. Gone but never forgotten, was the words that resonated among the crowd.

Those honored:

Corporal Rohnil Sing
Newman Police Department
End of Watch: Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018

Deputy Sheriff Antonio Hinostroza
Stanisluas County Sheriff’s Department
End of Watch: Sunday, Nov. 25, 2018

Police Officer Toshio Hirai
Gardena Police Department
End of Watch: Thursday, Nov. 25, 2018

Sergeant Ronald Lee Helus
Ventura County Sheriff’s Office
End of Watch: Thursday, Nov. 8, 2018

Deputy Sheriff Mark V. Stasyuk
Sacramento County Sheriff’s Department
End of Watch: Monday, Sept. 17, 2018

Correctional Officer Armando Gallegos Jr.
CDCR
End of Watch: Friday, Sept. 14, 2018

Police Officer Oscar Adrian Reyes
Costa Mesa Police Department
End of Watch: Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2018

Officer Kirk A. Griess
California Highway Patrol
End of Watch: Friday, Aug. 10, 2018

Deputy Sheriff Ryan Douglas Zirkle
Marin County Sheriff’s Office
End of Watch: Thursday, March 15, 2018

Police Officer Greggory Casillas
Pomona Police Department
End of Watch: Friday, March 9, 2018

Deputy Sheriff’s Steven Belanger
Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department
End of Watch: Tuesday, Feb. 6, 2018

Two officers

Avenal Police Chief R. Strivers, left, with CDCR Avenal State Prison Capt. J. Diaz showing support.